Awards shared

MOST of the awards to be presented at tomorrow night's Clarence River Cricket Association awards ceremony go to players in teams that did not figure in the grand final.

Premier league winners Harwood will pick up the trophies for minor and major premierships but most of the batting and bowling awards went to players from other clubs.

The 2005-2006 batting award went to South Services Matt Kroehnert with 513 for the season.

Westlawn's Andrew Firth was the leading bowler with 37 wicket and also picked up the all rounder title with 48 points.

The fielding award was shared between Geoff Simmons (Harwood) and the Westlawn duo of Brad Inmon and Rohan Hackett with 12 points each.

Century makers for the season were: Stuart Jonker (129), Firth 105no, Matt Blanch (108), Simmons 155no, Kroehnert 151, Rob McKenzie 100, Daniel Amos 104.

Bowlers to take seven wickets in an innings were: Kane Aeschlimann (8/49), Andrew Firth (7/57), Craig Moran (7/27), Chris Adamson 7/71.

The major awards to be announced on the night are: the 2GF Cricketer of the Year, The Daily Examiner Rookie of the Year, Representative Player of the Year, Highest Overall Batting Average, Mackellys Spin Bowler of the Year; N&R Payne Encouragement Award for Junior Player in Senior Grade, Most Wicketkeeper Dismissals Overall, The Daily Examiner/South Grafton Ex-Servicemen's Club Night Cricket Player of the Series; The Neil and Coral Frame Shield for the Night Cricket Premiers and Most Catches in Senior Grades.

The presentation dinner will be held at the South Grafton Ex-Servicemen's Club beginning at 6.30pm.

Other awards to be presented include:

Bananacoast Credit Union Premier League:

Major Premiers (Harwood).

Minor Premiers (Harwood).

Batting Award: Matt Kroehnert (South Services) 513 runs.

Bowling Award: Andrew Firth (Westlawn) 37 wickets.

Allrounder: Andrew Firth (Westlawn) 48

pts.Fielding: Geoff Simmons (Harwood) 12 pts; Rohan Hackett (Westlawn) 12 pts; Brad Inmon (Westlawn) 12 pts.

Centuries: Stuart Jonker 129, Andrew Firth 105 n.o., Matt Blanch 108, Geoff Simmons 155 n.o., Matt Kroehnert 151, Rob Mckenzie 100, Daniel Amos 104.

Seven wickets in an Innings: Kane Aeschlimann 8/49, Andrew Firth 7/57, Craig Moran 7/27, Chris Adamson 7/71.

Second Grade:

Major Premiers: Coutts Crossing.

Minor Premiers: Tucabia-Copmanhurst.

Batting Award: Ken Willis (Coutts Crossing) 359 runs.

Bowling Award: Paul Ensby (Coutts Crossing) 39

wickets.Allrounder: Ken Willis (Coutts Crossing) 30 pts.

Fielding: Tim Bultitude (Tucabia-Copmanhurst) 27 pts.

nCenturies: Matt Hartmann 103, Brendan Taylor 105 n.o., Ken Willis 135, Tom Cootes 124, Brad McLaren 100.

Hat-tricks: Brendan Taylor, Damien

Moran.Five or more 'Keeper Dismissals in an Innings: Robbie Bell (5).

Third Grade:

Major Premiers: Tucabia-Copmanhurst (A).

Minor Premiers: Tucabia-Copmanhurst (B).

Batting Award: John Frame (South Services) 501 runs.

Bowling Award: Murray Spry (Coutts Crossing) 36 wickets.

Allrounder: Jim Summers (Brothers): 31 pts.

Fielding: Richie Jamieson (South Services) 15 pts.

Centureis: Andrew Laverty 115, Dean Chamberlain 103, Greg Sutherland 103, John Frame 202 n.o., 109, 107 Matt Dougherty 134, 111, Brendan Mitchell 137.

Seven wickets in an Innings: Murray Spry 7/8.

Hat-tricks: Brendan Mitchell (2).

Five or More 'Keeper Dismissals: Rodney Mitchell (5).

Split decision as Yamba gets answer on intersection upgrade

premium_icon Split decision as Yamba gets answer on intersection upgrade

Council gives Yamba a decision on Yamba Rd and Treelands Dr

Another PM heads for toilet after fighting off spill

premium_icon Another PM heads for toilet after fighting off spill

September has been the cruellest month for PM.

NSW courts ‘drowning’ in thousands of cases

premium_icon NSW courts ‘drowning’ in thousands of cases

Police in NSW are doing their job so well the courts can’t keep up.

Local Partners