Tucabia?s 2005-06 success story ends on high note

TUCABIA-Copmanhurst Cricket Club's senior presentation was held on April 1 at its major sponsors venue, the Good Intent Hotel.

A highly successful season throughout the club was mirrored by a bumper crowd at the awards night.

President Eric Knox acknowledged the tremendous support the club receives from the Good Intent Hotel, having just completed its eighth season as the club's major sponsor.

While disappointed with missing out on winning the premier league and second grade grand finals the club reflected on what was one of its most successful seasons ever.

This included winning four of the seven available minor premierships, winning four of the seven premierships and finishing runner-up in three of the seven premierships.

Tucabia-Copmanhurst won both the junior club championship as well as the overall club championship.

With new players joining the club along with good numbers of junior players rising to senior cricket, the club also nominated an extra senior team to this season's competition.

Senior trophy list:

Third Grade (2 teams): Batting Matthew Dougherty and Steve Whitton. Bowling Jaime Busby and Michael Mitchell. Catches Dean Hambly and Rodney Mitchell. Team player Aaron Webb and Rodney Mitchell.

Second Grade: Batting Damien Moran. Bowling Damien Moran. Catches Daniel Cootes. Team Player Damien Moran.

First Grade: Catches Greg Watkins. Team Player Greg Watkins.

Perpetual Trophies:

Batting (Alan and Bev Murray Perpetual) Greg Watkins.

Bowling (Carl Roberts Memorial Trophy) Chris Adamson.

Robert Ellis Memorial Trophy for Highest Individual Score: Matt Blanch.

Alf Bowling Memorial Trophy for Most Runs in the Club: Aaron Webb.

Reg Firth Memorial Trophy for Most Wickets in the Club: Michael Mitchell.

Rob Sullivan Memorial Trophy for Club Allrounder (1 point per wicket/25 runs): Seb Dalton.

Alan Henderson Memorial Trophy for Senior Encouragement: Luke Kelly.

Richard and Fiona Worthing RFW Transport Night Cricket for Best and Fairest: Damien Rouse.

Rex Whitton Memorial Trophy for Sportsmanship: Bob McKenzie.

Rodger and Judy Bailey Perpetual Trophy for Clubman Of The Year: Debbie Bultitude and Steve Whitton.

Noel Egan Memorial Trophy for Rookie Of The Year: Seb Dalton.

ONE LAST STAND: Iluka has it all to play for

premium_icon ONE LAST STAND: Iluka has it all to play for

ONE side's safe, the other fighting for their finals hopes in derby.

Ray of kindness for drought-weary folk

Ray of kindness for drought-weary folk

Ray White Grafton starts drought donation drive

Local Partners