Wright makes right moves to clinch Mr Modified title


THE final round of the V8 Dirt Modifieds Mr Modified Series and round four of the Wants Transport-Carter Racing Team and Hydraulic Drilling Services Modified Production Series was contested at Lismore Speedway on Saturday night.

With two wins at Lismore Speedway and a fifth place in round two at Grafton Speedway, Steve Wright was victorious in claiming the title of Mr Modified 2006-2007.

Michael Butcher, with the highest pointscore on the night started on pole, with Aaron Suffolk on Butcher's outside, followed on row two with Don Stephenson inside Steve Wright.

Suffolk went to the lead from the wave of the green flag, Wright following behind, Butcher sitting in third.

Wright passed Suffolk to take the lead, Stephenson into third challenging Suffolk. After the compulsory five-minute pitstop, Wright off pole cleared out for an easy win, Suffolk surviving numerous challenges from Stephenson, held on for second.

Some of the best racing of the night was seen in round four of the modified production series.

In the B-main, the first four sedans had to qualify in this event to start at the rear of the A-main feature. Noel Clarke made sure he had a position in the feature with a commanding win over Steve Downes, with Al Irwin moving into third after a bingle in front helped him gain a spot in the top four.

Twenty-three sedans set off in the A-main feature which produced some exciting racing with the leaders often racing three wide battling for the series win.

Queensland state champion Todd Doyle was victorious over Mark Ferguson, with NSW state champion Michael Halley third.

Local driver Jason Jolley, top pointscorer and early leader, retired with a flat tyre.

Streeter driver Nick Spann had no challenges for the lead with an effortless win in the Lismore Front Wheel Drive Centre Combined Streeters/4-Cylinder feature.

Scott Sward brought his utility home in second, followed by Mick Roskell third.

The 4-cylinders event was won by Trent Dhu, with Cassandra Salkeld second and Lewis Gamble third.

Rob Lesha held out Luke Gray to win the Lismore Front-Wheel Drive Centre Stockers feature, with Tony Blanch finishing second.

The limited sedans feature was won by NSW champion Greg Moss, Gene Alder-Conn was second and Jeffery Walsh was rewarded with third.

NSW champion Max Clarke took out the junior sedans feature, Damian Rose finished second in front of Brock Armstrong.

Council responds to Yamba roundabout work traffic delays

Premium Content Council responds to Yamba roundabout work traffic delays

The contractor involved in constructing two roundabouts on Yamba Rd has been taken...

Grafton golfers ready to tee up for The Longest Day

Premium Content Grafton golfers ready to tee up for The Longest Day

Next week golfers will pick up their clubs at take to Grafton District Golf Club...

How one woman is bringing together the Clarence's sisterhood

Premium Content How one woman is bringing together the Clarence's sisterhood

‘It can be pretty isolating living in a rural area but it’s good to see many women...