Awards night honours GDSC swimmers

HUMBLE: Gary Grantham with award winner Doug Ensbey.
HUMBLE: Gary Grantham with award winner Doug Ensbey. Contributed

SWIMMING: Anticipation filled the air at the GDSC Swimming Club's annual presentation dinner. Members and guests exchanged pleasantries on arrival and then their taste buds were tantalised with a superb two-course meal, after which proceedings moved on to the more serious side of the evening.

Kim Dahl, acting as MC, kicked off the night announcing the monthly point score winners which included Damien O'Mahony (October and November), David Moon (December), Terry Barnes (January), Steve Donnelly (February) and Andrew Madden (March).

Highest point score winners in their respective age group were then announced. In the 30-34 years Amanda Nutt picked up the trophy and also won the award for the most disqualifications during the season.


Steve Donnelly winner of the Maurice Chapman trophy.
Steve Donnelly winner of the Maurice Chapman trophy. Contributed

The 45-49 years was taken out by Damien O'Mahony. The 50-54 years presentation was made by Don Tomlinson to Kieran Lynch 3rd, Bruce Durrington 2nd and David Moon 1st. Andrew Madden won the 55-59 years. In the 60-64 years group Ian Davis took 2nd and Steve Donnelly was 1st.

Results in the 65-69 years group were Terry Barnes 3rd, John Wainwright 2nd and Richard Sear 1st, 70-74 years - Bob Owen 3rd, Max Kroehnert 2nd and Toni Ensbey 1st.

The winner of the Stephen Donnelly Explosive Cup grand final was Ian Davis and Jill Enks was the winner of the Wykes Tyrepower Cup grand final.

The Neville "Chopper" Hackett memorial trophy for the swimmer winning the most 50m events was awarded to Damien O'Mahony with David Moon 2nd and Richard Sear 3rd.

The Maurice Chapman Memorial trophy awarded for application and consistency was presented to Steve Donnelly, and a more deserving recipient could not have been chosen.


Damien O'Mahony winner of the Neville "Chopper" Hackett trophy and also the Hugh Miller trophy presented for the overall point score .
Damien O'Mahony winner of the Neville "Chopper" Hackett trophy and also the Hugh Miller trophy presented for the overall point score . Contributed

The Hugh Miller memorial trophy for the overall point score winner was awarded to Damien O'Mahony and the Hugh Groom memorial trophy for runner-up was presented to David Moon.

Tom Grantham announced the winner of the Gary Grantham memorial trophy for Club Person of the year and this year's recipient was a very surprised but humble Doug Ensbey, a long-term member of the club and always willing to help out wherever possible.

Pauline Hanson's plane story contradicted by leaked tapes

Pauline Hanson with the One Nation plane — complete with party logo and a caricature of Senator Hanson — flown by James Ashby.

Senator Hanson indicates developer Bill McNee donated the cash

Community input for construction of new jail

Artists impression of new Grafton Jail.

Clarence Valley community's chance to join in planning the new jail

State of Origin: Why Maroons are wrong to target Hayne

The vastly experience Hayne a weakness? The Maroons are kidding

Now the ‘champion’ Maroons are struggling to sell out the ‘cauldron’

Local Partners

TRIBUTES FLOW: Fond memories for a fine man

KIND words shared by our readers highlight how fondly Neville Lollback will be remembered in the Clarence Valley community.

NRRRL: Magpies on a mission for home fans

ON A MISSION: Captain- coach Dan Randall hopes to lead Lower Clarence Magpies to their first victory of the 2017 NRRRL season when they run out in front of their home fans against Evans Head Bombers at the Nest this Sunday.

Lower Clarence ready for another cracker at the Nest

Polocrosse hits fever pitch at Hawthorne Park

ALL SYSTEMS GO: This weekend Grafton Polocrosse Club hosts its first annual carnival at Hawthorne Park since the club re-formed.

New lease of life in the Clarence Valley for equestrian team sport

Support for Kara's treadmill marathon explodes

Former Grafton and now NSW cricketer Kara Sutherland bowling to cricket legend Sir Viv Richards. Photo: MARK NEWSHAM

Support for treadmill marathon thrills organiser Kara Sutherland.

Sam Armytage and Tom Cruise? Saaaaay what?

SAMANTHA Armytage has hit back at rumours she’s dating Tom Cruise, following reports the pair had hit it off during an interview on Sunrise.

Musical tribute to flood volunteers released

Songwriter honours flood volunteers who helped their neighbours.

Lismore songwriter Simon Thomas was moved by strangers' kindness

Karl Stefanovic's rant about Schapelle Corby 'a bit rich'

Karl Stefanovic is sick of hearing about Schapelle Corby.

Maybe he just wanted to make himself the story.

Could Schapelle be heading for Gladstone?

Australian Schapelle Corby is escorted by Bali Police at the parole office in Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia, 27 May 2017.

Schapelle's mother teases her free daughter could be Gladstone bound

Six things you never knew about Men in Black

Mushu the pug

It's been 20 years since Men in Black first hit cinemas

10 strange stories behind famous sex scenes

Khaleesi and Khal Drogo in a steamy moment.

Every set has their own way of filming sex scenes

HBO spills new details on Game of Thrones’ final season

Game of Thrones’ eighth and final season will only have six episodes.

New details about what to expect from the eighth, final instalment.

This is real estate's billion-dollar man

Bob Wolff at AREC with John McGrath of McGrath Real Estate.

They don’t call him the “Billion dollar man” for nothing

Man's amazing comeback from monster crisis

Pat O'Driscoll agents Penny Keating and Doug Webber sold 56 Agnes St, The Range at auction over the weekend.

NOT long ago, he sold his possessions to pay staff. Now he's back.

How Toowoomba house prices compare in Australia

For sale sign in front of home.

Here's what $700,000 will buy you in Toowoomba, Brisbane and Sydney

One of Maryborough's most historic homes is still for sale

FULL OF HISTORY: Trisha Moulds is owner of the historic Tinana state known as Rosehill. The beautiful home is currently for sale.

It has been the scene of both joy and tragedies over the years.

The face of the Sunshine Coast's overpriced rental crisis

Alyx Wilson had to rent a $385 unit in Currimundi because the market was too competitive for cheaper rental housing. She is now renting a room from friends who own a house in Currimundi, and says its much more affordable.

Young people feel the strain in competitive, expensive rental market

Ready to SELL your property?

Post Your Ad Here!