The Gmail feature you demanded for years is finally here

GOOGLE has installed an "undo send" function as a formal setting on its email service.

That means no more moments of utter embarrassment when you realise you've accidentally sent a message to someone you weren't supposed to or sent one with a glaring error in it.

The feature has been available in Google Labs, a testing platform, for a while now and was recently introduced in the new Google Inbox app, the company explained in a blog post on Monday.

But after feedback from customers - some of whom appear to have been sending holiday plans to their bosses and kinky messages to their dads instead of to their spouses (see video below) - the feature has also been rolled out on Gmail for the web.

The feature can be switched on in 'Settings' - with a period of between five and 30 seconds available:

After sending an email, a small box appears at the top of the page which allows the user to "undo" and edit their message before sending again (or deleting altogether).



SWITCHED ON: Yamba NBN to go-ahead in June

SWITCHED ON: Yamba NBN to go-ahead in June

Redesign of fibre path gives Yamba's NBN the green light

Rare property up for sale on lakefront

Rare property up for sale on lakefront

You could wait many a year to get a spot on this village's lakefront

KIDZCHAT: Lawson tells us what is on his mind

KIDZCHAT: Lawson tells us what is on his mind

Lawson from CVAS tells us what's on his mind

Local Partners