Grafton again masters of the water

MEMBERS of the Grafton Rowing Club (GRC) are toasting their success in winning back the prestigious NRRA Victorious Veterans Perpetual Trophy from Murwillumbah Rowing Club.

This trophy is highly contested among rowing clubs in the Northern Rivers district, and is awarded to the club with the highest point score for the season.

Points are earned through competing in regattas and masters competitions across the district.

The trophy was first awarded in 1982-83 to Murwillumbah Rowing Club. Since then, Murwillumbah and Grafton have each been awarded the trophy various times over the years.

Other clubs in the district with competing masters rowers, but who have never won the award, include Tweed, Lismore, Iluka, Richmond River, and Lower Clarence rowing clubs.

Grafton members attribute part of their success to their Learn To Row Program, which has been conducted over the past two years.

Several new members have graduated from the program to go on to compete in regattas and masters competitions, thus earning valuable points for the club.

In addition to those pictured, masters members of the GRC who contributed to the overall points tally included: Karin Mills, Fiona Reilly, Allison Heagney, Stephanie Haines, Margaret Wright, Anne Collins, Rosemary Greaves, Terri Edgar, Jill Lang, Kerry Tarrant, Phil Redpath, Tony Gallagher, Michael Collins, Andrew Kelly, Brian Glawson, Peter Ashenden, Dennis Darke, Earl Cruickshank and Fred Marsden.