Schooled in history
IN the past 150 years, 65 Clarence Valley schools have closed their doors, and often memorabilia is lost over time.
The Alumny Creek School Museum team, particularly curator John Adams, has worked tirelessly since 1985 to preserve memories, following closure of the building as a school in the 1960s.
As a result of their efforts, the small, country museum has been featured on the cover of School Museums, a publication put out by the Australian College of Education.
The publication recognises the wonderful array of instructional artefacts at the museum including furniture, education documents, equipment and teaching tools from many years past.
At the Alumny Creek School Museum, visitors can attempt to pen their names in cursive while sitting at 100-year-old desks, in a room where history jumps from the very walls.
The museum encourages school children and families to go out and experience a day in the life of a 1930s student.
The school opened in 1872 and operated until 1969. The building and surrounding areas fell into a state of disrepair with overgrown bush and foliage.
A group of volunteer trustees began restoring the building and acquiring artefacts in 1985, and has forged ahead.