SPEEDWAY KING: Brisbane’s Kevin Britten powers in the 50-lap grand final of the Mr Modified series. PHOTO: Tony Powell
SPEEDWAY KING: Brisbane’s Kevin Britten powers in the 50-lap grand final of the Mr Modified series. PHOTO: Tony Powell

Speed racers

COFFS HARBOUR'S Chris Corbett and Brisbane driver Kevin Britten were the major winners at Trevan Ford Grafton Speedway on Saturday night.

Corbett took out the Grafton Automotive- sponsored NSW Junior Sedan Championship after he led from start to finish in a polished performance, while Britten emerged victorious in the 50-lap Mr Modified Series main event.

Corbett, who started from pole position in the state title, never put a wheel out of place in the 15-lap final. The battle at the head of the field held the interest as Corbett was challenged throughout the event by ultimate runner-up Brayden Willmington (from Marulan). Third man across the line was Newcastle driver Brock Gardner.

Corbett served notice earlier in the night of what was to come after he was a convincing winner of his heat. Other heat winners toward the final were Aiden Weir and Blake Everleigh. After the heats Corbett was top point scorer on 87 followed by Everleigh (77) and Willmington (68).

Corbett, who has been the form driver of the season at both the Grafton and Lismore venues, entered the title as the outright favourite and thoroughly deserved the victory.

Meanwhile, V8 Dirt Modified driver Kevin Britten was very impressive as he raced to victory in the 50-lap Grand Final of the Mr Modified series. West Australian competitor Travis Kennedy followed Britten across the line, while Daniel Scott was third.

The Mr Modified Series was run over two rounds on an accumulative point score, (the first round was won by triple Australian titleholder Peter Britten at Lismore two days earlier).

Peter Britten was the series leader entering the Grafton final. Even though he missed a major placing in the main event at Grafton and finished fourth, he scored enough points to win the series outright by a mere two points over his brother Kevin (213 points). Rounding out the top five in the series were Kennedy (192), Scott (182) and Andrew Pezzutti (156).

A mandatory pit stop in the Grafton final with a five minute break was called by officials after 19 laps. Crews were allowed to top up fuel only and if a tyre change was required the driver was forced to start the second leg of the main event from the rear of the field.

One of the pre-race favourites Andrew Pezzutti was the first withdrawal of the main event after he tangled with Ray Eggins.

But the man of the moment was Kevin Britten who led every lap on the hard, slick track. Britten was the centre of attention after he crossed the finish line when he spun his car and careered backwards into the fence at high speed. Britten escaped unscathed from the incident in a dramatic finish.

V8 Dirt Modified heat winners were Kennedy, Kevin Britten, Scott, Mitchell Gee, Eggins and Jai Stephenson.

Brooms Head beach access decision explained

premium_icon Brooms Head beach access decision explained

Council proposes compromise for the community

Engineered for fun at South Grafton PS

premium_icon Engineered for fun at South Grafton PS

WATCH: Students take recycling to a whole new level

Truth about where you grew up

Truth about where you grew up

Research has revealed just how big an effect your suburb can have.

Local Partners