Rain can't stop Grafton Speedway

AT GRAFTON Speedway on Saturday night it was round four of the Inside Speedway Ultimate Raceline Micro Sprints Series.

With drivers from Queensland and NSW, this division caters for both 4-stroke and 2-stroke engines.

Steve McCullogh ended his night early after a spectacular rollover destroyed his Micro Sprint in heat 2.

Brett Sainsbury also did not make the feature after running into the back of another Sprinter. NSW driver Jeff Byron was running hot all night, leading all the way to take out round 4. Queenslander Mark Van Geirsbergen ran second from Steve Ellicott.

Marcus Fleming might be moving-on next month but in his last race with the AMCA Nationals went all-out.

After being third after the first lap, Fleming tagged the wall moving back to the rear of the field but pegged his way back to be fourth. Tony Blanch succumbed to the pressure, spinning out on turn four. Stuart Hall led from the drop of the green flag to the chequered flag when the race was declared with one lap to go in the 20-lap event after Matt Hardy and Tony Campbell collided.

Nick Stubbs ran second and Fleming third.

Mitchell Haynes was third on the grid but only managed half-a-lap before spinning out in the Junior sedans. Pole-sitter Matthew Claydon led for one lap before Dallas Rose took up the front running.

The wall brought Phillip O’Shea undone when trying to overtake Claydon on the outside in turn one.

No-one was going to catch Rose but Haynes made up plenty of ground to get second while Claydon finished third.

Only two cars finished out of five in the 4-cylinders challenge.

Max Marsden led all the way to defeat Mel Rachow. Mykel English was challenging Marsden for first position but after 12 laps English’s car caught on fire and was retired from the race.

Ben Irons was having his first race start in a rear-wheel-drive racecar in the Stockers on Saturday night. Irons finished second to Geff Rose in the main event with only two cars completing the course.

Brian Hyatt was highest pointscorer after three heats in the Limited Sprinters but started from the rear after a flip of the coin reversed the grid.

Neil Lorenz starting out of position five was in front by the end of the first lap blasting past Robert Hull, Grant Thrower, Ray Scroop and Matt Moore.

After four laps Lorenz had a handy lead, Will Newton and Brian Hyatt filled the placings.

In the Stockrods, the last feature event of the night, the track was still wet and slippery and didn’t deter Ken Samway posting another win with Graeme Rangihuna running second with Mark Heap in third.

Push for public facilities takes a back seat

premium_icon Push for public facilities takes a back seat

IT BROUGHT the rural village together like never before, but after three years...

OUR SAY: They built it, but we stopped coming

premium_icon OUR SAY: They built it, but we stopped coming

IT’S rather trite to yell about what can and can’t be done about the loss of our...

Condon inspiring a change of perspective on disability

premium_icon Condon inspiring a change of perspective on disability

Cerebral palsy hasn’t stopped Tristin from chasing his dreams as he continues to...