Author John McNamara looks over the plans for the original settlement of Yamba.
Author John McNamara looks over the plans for the original settlement of Yamba.

Yamba history in new book

ONE hundred and twenty five years ago, the town of Clarence River Heads was officially renamed Yamba in the Government Gazette of March 20, 1885, while the Post Office changed its name on June 1, 1885.

To celebrate this historic event, John McNamara, together with the Port of Yamba Historical Society, has prepared a limited edition book titled From Clarence River Heads to Yamba to chronicle the people and events that led up to the formation of the township.

According to Mr McNamara, Yamba in the early days of European settlement would have been more like a ‘tent city’, but the construction of the breakwater in 1862 greatly accelerated its growth, virtually ‘from five to 200 residents overnight’.

Many essential services and more permanent establishments soon followed, including a school, boarding houses, hotels, and a post office.

The book will feature photos and images of some of Yamba’s earliest plans, buildings, surveyors and settlers and is a fascinating account of the community in days gone by.

Information was sourced from early newspaper articles, the National Library of Australia and museum files.

“The book fell together pretty easily,” said John, who is a research officer with the Port of Yamba Historical Society.

It will be published in September.



Ostwald Bros liquidators face fight to stay in role

premium_icon Ostwald Bros liquidators face fight to stay in role

Members of committee representing creditors want liquidators sacked

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: The fall of Israel

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: The fall of Israel

VIDEO: Moose is joined behind the sports desk by special guest Burls.

GALLERY: Bridge traffic affected by rush hour collision

GALLERY: Bridge traffic affected by rush hour collision

P-plater involved in two-car crash adjacent to bridge

Local Partners