Opinion

Tue 25 Sep 2018

Pilots prove facility is on world stage for Qantas academy

premium_icon Pilots prove facility is on world stage for Qantas academy

IF YOU need more proof of Toowoomba's suitability for the proposed Qantas pilot training academy, look to the arrival of the students to Wellcamp Airport.

Mon 24 Sep 2018

The real problem with euthanasia

The real problem with euthanasia

LEGALISING assisted dying would simply solve some glaring problems, but there is one major reason why it will, and should, never happen.

Top hoop returns to his best

Top hoop returns to his best

EIGHT-time Ipswich premier jockey Jim Byrne had endured a slow start to his current season - until the latest Ipswich meeting on Friday that is.

Facial recognition first sign of exciting things to come

Facial recognition first sign of exciting things to come

Latest from Subaru is an awesome piece of technology because it addresses a major road safety issue.

OPINION: This is not what shoulder charge ban is for

OPINION: This is not what shoulder charge ban is for

Billy Slater will miss the grand final if he can't beat a shoulder charge ban at the judiciary.

Sun 23 Sep 2018

This is the worst Australian city to find a date

This is the worst Australian city to find a date

WHEN Kate Iselin went on a recent date, something happened that summed up exactly what’s wrong with one Aussie city.

Sat 22 Sep 2018

Scott Morrison’s ‘fair go’ lie

Scott Morrison’s ‘fair go’ lie

WHILE Scott Morrison loves the premise of giving everyone ‘a fair go’, there’s one area of politics that needs this more than any other.

GRAPE EXPECTATIONS: Taking a stand by taking a seat

premium_icon GRAPE EXPECTATIONS: Taking a stand by taking a seat

AS IF the world isn't hard enough, now there's rules surrounding the national anthem

Fri 21 Sep 2018

Why is man hating suddenly a punchline?

premium_icon Why is man hating suddenly a punchline?

THERE’S no way a man saying he hated women — even jokingly — would be applauded. So why is that men are considered fair game by feminists, asks Jane Fynes-Clinton.

Thu 20 Sep 2018

OPINION: Why I adore Meghan Markle

premium_icon OPINION: Why I adore Meghan Markle

I’ll be among the royal fans hoping to get a glimpse of her when she and Prince Harry visit our region next month.

Why it’s time to cut Karl loose

premium_icon Why it’s time to cut Karl loose

TODAY pulling its lowest ratings in more than a decade should sound the alarm for Nine management. They need to make radical change if they want to give the show...

Advancing Australia with a new anthem

Advancing Australia with a new anthem

Indigenous columnist Janelle Brown explains why first nation people feel left out

OUR SAY: Sorry is a good start after scar tree debacle

premium_icon OUR SAY: Sorry is a good start after scar tree debacle

The Clarence Valley Council's stirring apology to local indigenous people after removing a scar tree must be seen as a good start to repairing the damage.

Wed 19 Sep 2018

OPINION: The one thing Sam Burgess got right

premium_icon OPINION: The one thing Sam Burgess got right

WHEN the Rabbitohs’ star player faced up to questions on sexting allegations, he was correct about the scandal’s ripple effect, and not just on him.

Terrorism against our farmers must not be tolerated

Terrorism against our farmers must not be tolerated

The needle saga is terrorism against our local farmers.

Gen-Z Opinion: Plastic surgery has became mainstream

premium_icon Gen-Z Opinion: Plastic surgery has became mainstream

Cadet Journalist Ebony Stansfield writes about how plastic surgery has gone mainstream.

Aged care: Why the Royal Commission must get it right

premium_icon Aged care: Why the Royal Commission must get it right

The grim images from the media reports on aged care facilities must spur the industry into improvement, not provide disaster porn to titillate readers.

Be honest, we took farmers for granted

premium_icon Be honest, we took farmers for granted

The fragility of agriculture industries has been brutally exposed by the damage of the strawberry contamination saga.

Tue 18 Sep 2018

Glaring problem on our roads

Glaring problem on our roads

THERE’S a glaring problem on our roads that is killing countless Australians. And it’s only getting worse.

Alternative view on campus rape unwelcome

premium_icon Alternative view on campus rape unwelcome

UNIVERSITIES are supposed to be places for open exchange of ideas, but students would rather start a riot than hear what this woman has to say: Peter Gleeson.

Newer Older