Letters to the Editor

Thu 19 Dec 2019

OPINION: PM vacates while country is in national crisis

premium_icon OPINION: PM vacates while country is in national crisis

Not since when the Japanese were on our doorstep have we seen a prime minister vacate his nation and seek refuge in a foreign land.

Wed 18 Dec 2019

’I headed home in tears’: Single mum demeaned in supermarket

premium_icon ’I headed home in tears’: Single mum demeaned in supermarket

'As we walked along the aisle an old lady looked at my trolley and said 'yep another alcoholic smoker of a mother'.'

Mon 25 Nov 2019

Letter: Climate change action needed by government

premium_icon Letter: Climate change action needed by government

THE Federal government’s lack of policy and preventive action on climate change at a time when catastrophic fires are raging is pathetic.

Mon 18 Nov 2019

'It's time to act on climate change'

premium_icon 'It's time to act on climate change'

YOUR SAY: The east coast of Australia is on fire. People are understandably upset as their homes and livelihoods are endangered.

Thu 7 Nov 2019

Nursing shortage 'a well planned management strategy'

premium_icon Nursing shortage 'a well planned management strategy'

Resident raises concerns about ongoing problem plaguing our hospitals

Wed 6 Nov 2019

Pros and cons of building dam on Nymboida River

premium_icon Pros and cons of building dam on Nymboida River

Clarence River: Fact and Fiction - Part III: Why a second dam in the Clarence Valley catchment would or would not be a feasible option for the future.

Fri 25 Oct 2019

Wild dogs just as much an issue for farmers as the drought

premium_icon Wild dogs just as much an issue for farmers as the drought

"We need farmers so let’s take our hats off to them and the food they produce for us."

World owes much to press freedom

World owes much to press freedom

The world has much to thank the freedom of the press for, so don’t let it become victimised by petty bureaucracy.

Thu 24 Oct 2019

Would a Royal Commission into climate change be a start?

premium_icon Would a Royal Commission into climate change be a start?

It could be hard for its findings to be ignored, as the banking commission showed.

Sat 12 Oct 2019

‘People aren’t sheep, or are they?’

premium_icon ‘People aren’t sheep, or are they?’

‘The words of the internet are accepted all too readily by the gullible believers’

Fri 27 Sep 2019

Hypocrisy, thy name is conservative!

premium_icon Hypocrisy, thy name is conservative!

OPINION: Perrett, O'Brien, ScoMo and Trump are as bad as each other with their inconsistencies and flagrant hypocricy

Wed 25 Sep 2019

'Cows being slaughtered': Tragic reality of milk price wars

premium_icon 'Cows being slaughtered': Tragic reality of milk price wars

ONE Chronicle reader has described a tragic scene which show the impact low milk prices are having on our farmers

Mon 23 Sep 2019

Climate change-denying grandpa slams student 'riots'

premium_icon Climate change-denying grandpa slams student 'riots'

"MANY of these malcontents were young women who, in my opinion, would have been far better off attending to their needlework and cooking classes".

Wed 11 Sep 2019

Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

premium_icon Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

‘The proposed euthanasia legislation is linked to aged and palliative care, which is frightening’

Mon 26 Aug 2019

More Newstart will help more people into jobs

premium_icon More Newstart will help more people into jobs

Scott Morrison and at least most federal government MPs want unemployed Australians to get a job.

Sun 25 Aug 2019

‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

premium_icon ‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

A tourist to the Sunshine Coast was thrilled by the generous and trusting nature of a local who he had asked for directions.

Mon 19 Aug 2019

Adani protestors: Climate anarchists or freedom fighters?

premium_icon Adani protestors: Climate anarchists or freedom fighters?

READER: I have attended Adani-mine protests and I am proud of that.

Fri 16 Aug 2019

Respect key to growth and success of Magpies

premium_icon Respect key to growth and success of Magpies

'THERE are names that will never go down in the club's history books. But the 2019 playing group should be remembered as the group that stayed and fought.'

Sun 11 Aug 2019

OPINION: Most people want a secular Australia

premium_icon OPINION: Most people want a secular Australia

"People in this country have the freedom to practise whatever religion they want, but now Christians believe they should have special rights to discriminate”

Mon 29 Jul 2019

LETTER: Is climate change really to blame?

premium_icon LETTER: Is climate change really to blame?

'There are no full unmitigated truths that can prove the death of bush in the Girraween National Park has anything to do with climate change only assumptions.'

Newer Older