Letters to the Editor

Sat 9 Jun 2018

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

ALLOW me to tell you and your readers about an extraordinary act of kindness extended to me by a denizen of your city.

Fri 8 Jun 2018

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

EDITOR Steve Etwell penned: “Surely there are people out there with an opinion” (TC, 02/06).

Tue 22 May 2018

LETTER: Our volunteers keep the chopper flying

LETTER: Our volunteers keep the chopper flying

Westpac Helicopter CEO thanks the volunteers who keep the organisation running

Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

premium_icon Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

Living in the present but acknowledging the past while looking towards the future is the only way forward.

Fri 18 May 2018

Cat left to die on suburban street

premium_icon Cat left to die on suburban street

I AM very annoyed with drivers around Toowoomba when they hit an animal on the road and continue driving as if it does not matter

Tue 15 May 2018

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

Letter writer Baron Large defends his stance against female NRL commentators.

Mon 7 May 2018

YOUR SAY: Concern for Clarence's future

YOUR SAY: Concern for Clarence's future

To divert or not to divert our river? Local environmental group weighs in on the reignited debate

Fri 27 Apr 2018

YOUR SAY: Who owns our water?

YOUR SAY: Who owns our water?

Is our greatest natural resource for our use alone? Our should we share?

Tue 24 Apr 2018

LETTER: Time for royal commission into fuel prices

LETTER: Time for royal commission into fuel prices

IF IT'S good enough for banking to face a Royal Commission then its time for those running the petrol industry to suffer the same scrutiny.

Fri 20 Apr 2018

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

The only thing pot is good for is eating pizza and watching The Simpsons.

Wed 18 Apr 2018

Comm Games closing ceremony 'embarrassing and disgusting'

Comm Games closing ceremony 'embarrassing and disgusting'

I trust that the closing ceremony which consisted mostly of insignificant small-time political garbage will be tossed into the trash bin of games history.

Thu 5 Apr 2018

Abbott haters deaf to good advice on energy

Abbott haters deaf to good advice on energy

TONY Abbott’s critics are right. He’s pushing this plan for more coal-fired electricity knowing it will hurt Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull.

Wed 4 Apr 2018

Bullying is not normal behaviour, it's sickening nonsense

Bullying is not normal behaviour, it's sickening nonsense

IT IS a promising sign that young adults in high schools are taking responsibility for their peers and younger students in an attempt to stamp out bullying.

Thu 29 Mar 2018

LETTER: Saving manmade wonders a bridge too far for pollies

LETTER: Saving manmade wonders a bridge too far for pollies

"POLITICAL persuasion is effective, political and community apathy isn't. As a result coming generations will not have access to these treasures we spurned.”

SILT GUILT: Sparkling waters take a swandive

SILT GUILT: Sparkling waters take a swandive

DOLPHINS and swans used to visit. But over the years silt build up in Lake Wooloweyah has has choked the oxygen out of the water and killled off the seagrass.

Thu 22 Mar 2018

YOUR SAY: Fishing stalwart fires back

YOUR SAY: Fishing stalwart fires back

Lower Clarence fisherman of 63 years has his say on the NSW government's fishing reform

Fri 16 Mar 2018

LETTER: Try hugging these trees

LETTER: Try hugging these trees

Ulmarra resident up in arms over bat colony moving into local park

Calls to revisit the Sir Earle Page's gorge scheme

Calls to revisit the Sir Earle Page's gorge scheme

With the new snowy mountain hydro scheme a hot topic, one community leader suggests it's time to revisit our options to solve the nation's energy price crisis.

Wed 14 Mar 2018

LETTER: Playground under attack from bats

LETTER: Playground under attack from bats

Flying foxes have been an issue for many communities in the Clarence Valley and now they've set up shop somewhere new.

Tue 13 Mar 2018

LETTER: Health van to help men who 'haven't had time'

LETTER: Health van to help men who 'haven't had time'

It sounds a bit dramatic maybe but plenty of rural men just drop dead in the paddock, because "nobody saw it coming”.

Newer Older